• Home
  • /
  • Books
  • /
  • 10 Of The Best Robert Ludlum Books

10 Of The Best Robert Ludlum Books

Take a look below for our list of 10 of the best Robert Ludlum books.

1. The Bourne Identity

The Bourne Identity is a 1980 spy fiction thriller by Robert Ludlum that tells the story of Jason Bourne, a man with remarkable survival abilities who has retrograde amnesia, and must seek to discover his true identity. In the process, he must also determine why several shadowy groups, a professional assassin, and the CIA want him dead. It is the first novel of the original Bourne Trilogy, which also includes The Bourne Supremacy and The Bourne Ultimatum.

2. The Holcroft Covenant

The Holcroft Covenant is a 1978 novel by Robert Ludlum. In 1985 it was made into a film of the same name.

3. The Bourne Supremacy

The Bourne Supremacy is the second Jason Bourne novel written by Robert Ludlum, first published in 1986. It is the sequel to Ludlum’s bestseller The Bourne Identity (1980) and precedes Ludlum’s final Bourne novel, The Bourne Ultimatum (1990).

4. The Osterman Weekend

The Osterman Weekend is a thriller novel by Robert Ludlum. First published in 1972, it was the author’s second book. The novel was the basis for the film of the same title.

5. The Bourne Ultimatum

The Bourne Ultimatum is the third Jason Bourne novel written by Robert Ludlum and a sequel to The Bourne Supremacy (1986). First published in 1990, it was the last Bourne novel to be written by Ludlum himself. Eric Van Lustbader wrote a sequel titled The Bourne Legacy fourteen years later.

6. The Matarese Circle

MGM and Relativity Media picked up the rights to Ludlum’s novel for $3 million in 2008. Writers Michael Brandt and Derek Haas were signed to write the script, Denzel Washington was attached to star as Scofield and Tom Cruise was in negotiations to star as Taleniekov. The film adaptation, originally scheduled to be released in 2013, was derailed when Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer filed for Chapter 11 Bankruptcy on November 3, 2010. Director David Cronenberg stated that he did not think the project would be resurrected.

7. The Matarese Countdown

The Matarese Countdown is an espionage thriller novel by Robert Ludlum. It is the sequel to The Matarese Circle.

8. The Icarus Agenda

The Icarus Agenda is a 1988 thriller novel by bestselling author Robert Ludlum. It is the sequel to The Chancellor Manuscript.

9. The Scorpio Illusion

The Scorpio Illusion is a 1993 novel by Robert Ludlum. It is a mix of suspense, drama, action and thriller.

10. The Apocalypse Watch

The Apocalypse Watch (1995) is a novel by Robert Ludlum. A TV movie based on it aired in 1997 which starred Patrick Bergin and Virginia Madsen. This was Ludlum’s second novel to focus on a neo-Nazi conspiracy to take over the world, after The Holcroft Covenant (1978).

Spread the love

Leave a Reply